Toad, True

Family: Bufonidae

Eastern olive toad (Amietophrynus garmani)
Toads and frogs belong to the same order, Anura. In fact all toads are scientifically classed as frogs. But there are a group of frogs known as true toads which belong to the Bufonidae family. This family is widespread, native to every continent except Australia and Antarctica. In the region of southern Africa there are 23 known species of Bufonidae. They are stereotypical toads with a rough warty skin which mainly live on land in dryer areas compared to most other frogs. They lay eggs in strings, lack teeth, have a parotid gland behind the ears and males possess a Bidder’s organ.

Kingdom : Animalia
Phylum : Chordata
Class : Amphibia
Order : Anura
Family : Bufonidae

Vote for the fact you find most fascinating

Male true toads are the only frog to have a Bidder’s organ. This rudimentary ovary can become active under the right conditions.

True toads have a pair of parotoid glands behind their ears which secretes a toxic substance, known as bufotoxin. This is used to deter predators and can be poisonous if ingested by small mammals. In some species this toxin contains hallucinogenic properties.

Some species of true toad can produce up to 25,000 eggs.

The collective noun for toads is a knot.

True toads can live up to 40 years old.

All true toads are scientifically classed as frogs.